TWO FOR ONE ROOM
pose in front of the Mountain District School.
The bulding was sold to the Mountain School
club about 1920, and annual groups held
reunions there for many years, posing in
pictures similar to above.
September meeting of the Epsom Historical
Association was a unique two for one program
on the early history of Epsom schools. The
meeting began with an update on the progress
at the old library, and was followed by
a program outlining the schools of early
Epsom; from its first school at the center,
through the loose districting, to the 1808
establishment of the first six districts
and finally to the 10 school districts in
use by the time of the Civil War. Refreshments
were served during the meeting and Phil
Yeaton had a display of early school textbooks.
of the Short Falls school prior to meeting.
meeting was held at the old Short Falls
school, built in 1853, and currently in
use by the American Legion. Following the
program, members car pooled up for a unique
opportunity to view the interior of the
Mountain District school, also known as
the 'little red schoolhouse.' Special arrangements
had been made through the owner for a close
look at the school that was in operation
from 1834 to 1920. According to information
provided each member, the Mountain District
school and the Short Falls District school
are the two oldest still standing one room
schools in the town of Epsom.
- Exterior of the Little Red School house,
below, interior views.
some of desks and chairs in storage.
Exterior of old Short Falls schoolhouse
of old Short Falls school, now the Legion
Harkness, President of the Epsom Historical
Association addressing the members.